Mike Hewitt

Photos and Commentary

A Saturday Afternoon in Tavares

Posted by blueheronbobcat on April 18, 2010

Tavares is the County Seat of Lake County, Florida.  It’s a combination of the old and new, and it’s where the court house, jail, and most government agencies are located.   It’s also one of the many places in Central Florida where antique car enthusiasts love to gather.  These photos were all taken recently at a festival in the city, and they show some of the people and things that I observed.  I adjusted all of the photos with my normal sharpening, levels, etc. routine, and then I used Topaz Adjust to tone map them.  A border was then added.  Many people comment that my photos look almost like comics, but I like this look right now.  It’s probably a phase I’m going through.





9 Responses to “A Saturday Afternoon in Tavares”

  1. Sean Kane said

    I really dig the detail in the second photo. The grit and weathered appearance really make the shot come alive.

  2. Paul said

    The second and the last photos are great. Love the rust. The colors in the last one are terrific! Almost looks like a dealer brochure from that era. Great work!

  3. These are great shots and I really like how you processed them. The 2nd photo… love it! And I really like the plane with the man in how this is processed. I like the illustrative look in photography and it truly suits old cars and vehicles and farm equipment…. and buildings too. Oh, is the last car a Rambler?

  4. What a great collection of vehicles you’ve captured here… Some real classics…

  5. Preston said

    I really enjoy the red chevy truck, the yellow plane, and the station wagon. I certainly love the comic – Sunday morning funny paper effect. I try to do this as well, but have not been too successful at it. This is a very fun technique.

  6. I got thіs web page from my friend who told me on the topic of tҺіѕ website and at thᥱ moment this tіme I am visiting
    this web site and reading very informative articles аt this tіme.

Leave a Reply

 
