Mike Hewitt

Photos and Commentary

Dragon Boat Races

Posted by blueheronbobcat on April 30, 2010

These photos were taken at a Dragon Boat competition in Tavares, Fl. I applied different effects to each photo, mostly different watercolor effects, and added the border. The Dragon Boat races are held each year in Tavares, but this was my first time attending. I was using an 18-200mm Nikon zoom lens, and I found that 200mm was just barely long enough to get the photos I wanted. Maybe next year I will have a 400mm or better to work with.



7 Responses to “Dragon Boat Races”

  1. Sean Kane said

    Nice colors and action. I especially like the mood in the 3rd image.

    • Thanks Sean. I wish I would have had a longer focal length lens to shoot with. I had to crop in on these more than I wanted to, but they still came out reasonably crisp.

  2. These are great action shots and so colorful! I especially like the third image.

    • Thanks Anna. I like the third one best also. I think it’s the way the drummer girl (I don’t know their official term for her) is leaning forward in somewhat of an agressive manner.

  3. Captured some nice images here, and they work well with the borders you’ve chosen… and who doesn’t need a 400mm… lol…

  4. Preston said

    Fantastic unique shots. Sometimes less is more. I enjoyed how you framed and processed these photos.

Leave a Reply

 
